top of page

New art, new year!


Happy 2016! I can't believe we are already saying that- but here it is!! 2015 was filled with a lot of amazing ups and downs and twists and turns- and it looks like 2016 will bring more excitement and adventures. To which I say, bring it on!!

To wrap up 2015 I created a collage on my instagram page with a few highlights of what has been keeping me busy over the last year. To be fair, I probably should have made a collage of my dog to accompany the painting shots, since she really is the other half of my instagram. Hey, everyone needs a muse, right?

So to kick things off in a creative and mindful way, I have decided to participate in the 30 paintings in 30 days challenge for January. I will be working on a very large scale in oils for some future projects, so those don't exactly lend themselves to a painting a day exercise- and the January weather in North Dakota isn't my idea of plein air weather! That's ok though- there is always something to learn. I have been playing around with watercolors just long enough to realize that I have A LOT to learn!! So that is my goal. Read and research a little, experiment A LOT, and repeat. Times 30!

My first submission is, of course, pickles. Sorry! I am a woman obsessed. They are a bright beacon of summer in our winter cabinets!! I love that they are a self-contained little world of bright colors and nostalgia- for me anyhow. This may be one of the last jars we canned though, so I may have to seek inspiration from elsewhere until our next canning season.

I will be posting new work daily on instagram to stay accountable, so feel free to follow me there. I will also post a few more updates here with pictures of what I have been working on, what has been inspiring me, and maybe a picture or two of the loyal and trustworthy studio pup. So keep checking back- and thanks for all of your interest and support!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Thanks for stopping by!

If you are looking to be kept up to date and would like to be the first to know what's going on, why not sign up for my mailing list?

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
Say hello:

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page